Waiting on my Owl…

Taken at WWoHP.

It’s been nearly three days since the close of Pottermore’s Magical Quill challenge, and if you are a registered beta tester you probably feel a lot like the guy in the picture atop this entry. Tired. Stressed. Impatient. And, lets face it, a little obsessed. I won’t deny my obsession, what else could have pushed me to sleep deprivation to see clue after clue when I’d already obtained registration on day one. OF COURSE I’M OBSESSED.

But I digress. The point is, as an obsessed pottermore beta, I’ve been online linked into the community even before the site starts letting users on. As we reached the close of day two it became a slight hysteria, as false information raised false hopes. Day three brought doctored screen shots and “my friend got in” tales.

Pottermore is the oasis we all hope to reach, no ones gotten on, but someone’s always heard of a guy, who knew a girl who got her welcome e-mail. And she’s drinking from the oasis while we’re all out here wondering what the game plan is.

The lack of official information, aside from a vague assertion that it could take “weeks”, has allowed pure rumor to run around disguised as fact. E-Mail release schedules that were made up of assumptions and conjecture are thought to be official. It reminds me of a powerful line Michael J. Fox has in The American President which I will now modify to suit my purposes.

They don’t have a choice! The fans are the only ones doing the talking! People want information, Pottermore, and in the absence of genuine information, they’ll listen to anyone who steps up to the microphone. They want information. They’re so thirsty for it they’ll crawl through the desert toward a mirage, and when they discover there’s no water, they’ll drink the sand.

So, don’t drink the sand folks. We’re all really excited to be a part of what I’m sure is going to be an amazing community, but we need to stop faking each other out by repeating rumors. If it hasn’t been posted by the @Pottermore twitter account or posted on Insider.Pottermore.Com then it probably isn’t true.

Also, I expect when the first wave of welcome letters hit inboxes the internet is going to feel the boom. It’s not going to be one sole user with a screen shot getting in all by their lonesome. There’s a million of us, remember?

And with that, I bid you farewell. Hopefully the next time I write here it will be about MY welcome e-mail. (PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE)

Categories: POTTERMORE | Tags: , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Waiting on my Owl…

  1. Pingback: Pottermore Watch « Blog of a Pottermore Beta

  2. Pingback: Owl Watch 2011 (updated 8/16/11) « Blog of a Pottermore Beta

  3. That picture.. is rather… unsettling. LOL

  4. Great blog, Elm. It’s important to have genuine info, as you said. Thanks for helping keep things accurate!!!
    ~RiverWild105

Leave a Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.