Pottermore = Family

Since the day I found the Magical Quill and registered for Pottermore, I’ve been tweeting about it nonstop from the twitter account I made to match my Pottermore username. Then I start recruiting people to join me, and they recruited people, and now there are so many of us I doubt I could name everyone for you.

This is our #pottermorefamily as we call it on Twitter. And it is not quite the NORMAL twitter experience.

If you plan on reading every tweet, this probably isn’t for you, my twitter stream flows so fast it’s more like a rapid fire chat room than a twitter feed. With everyone following everyone else you see every conversation and can hop in and out of the flow as you please. Spread across the globe as we are, there’s ALWAYS a family member on to talk to, and never any shortage of Potter talk.

I’ve been asked a couple of times how to JOIN the Pottermore Family, as if they expect me to send them an application or a link to a registration page. But it’s nothing so formal than that.

To join Pottermore Family is as simple as creating a twitter account for your Pottermore name and to join the conversation! Most of us are follow backers, which means if we see a Pottermore username account following, we will follow you back. But tweeting to us will make your follower count rise much faster as we retweet and make the other Family members aware of your presence.

NEVER be afraid to reply even to conversations you aren’t originally a part of, just hop in.

Looking for other Pottermore Family members? Here’s some links that might help you:

It’s fairly easy to pick out the Pottermore usernames, and just start checking out your fellow family members.

Another great way to find other Pottermore tweeps is by using and searching for hash tags. Here’s some we’ve been using:

Okay, okay, I might have just added that last one.

Several of the Pottermore Family members are collecting data for various projects, hit em up if you want to take part.

The Pottermore Family has quickly become the most active Twitter experience I’ve ever been a part of, and if you would like there are hundreds of us waiting to welcome you into the ranks. But first, some tweets from family members ABOUT Pottermore Family.

“it’s about being able to talk to people who understand your out of the ordinary interest in waiting for a website that noone knows what it does” – @RoseSeer195

“I think it’s cool how people are tweeting good morning & eating breakfast but where I’m at, it’s 10:10 p.m. 🙂 #pottermorefamily is #huge” – @SunFeather198

“the #pottermorefamily is the best virtual family one could ask for…love you guys :)” – @DragonSnitch

“So… I was supposed to be sleeping now… but nah, this #pottermorefamily is way too cool!! Way cooler than I expected actually!” – @OakSun110

“I wish with all of my heart that I could just sit around and do NOTHING tonight. But tweet. With all of you.” – @NoxOwl3

“Goodnight lovelies! Been a grand time on twitter with the #pottermorefamily. ♥♥Severus Snape♥♥ “”The bravest man I ever knew” *Sniff*” – @SeekerErised69

Alright, now I know that was a lot of information, and I also know that there was MORE information I could have included. If you have any questions, or have any additions you think should be made, feel free to leave a comment.

Also, if you’re new to the family and need help getting started, send me a tweet @ElmBlade43.

And now, some tweets from Pottermore Family members chosen at random for level of amusement I felt when browsing for tweets.

“On the treadmill, listening to music and tweeting about #pottermore lol” – @GhostDream69

@ElmFlame185 is the love child of @ElmBlade43 & @EchoFlame38 somehow haha” – @HallowQuest105

Last, but certainly not least you will see some of my fellow Pottermore bloggers in the right menu of this blog, make sure you check em out too!! —–>

Categories: POTTERMORE | Tags: , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Pottermore = Family

  1. Jess

    I’m not sure how many of these people have received their welcome owl yet (personally, I’m still waiting…and waiting…and waiting…it’s like sitting in a never ending Professor Binns class), but a couple hundred readers shared their Pottermore names at “The Last Muggle”.

    Results here: http://thelastmuggle.com/2011/08/02/what-is-your-pottermore-name/

    Glad to see you got into Pottermore! I’ll let you know when I get in and promptly get lost (or blow up a potion or something)

    • I hope you get in soon! I know my wait felt like an eternity and I can’t imagine still waiting. Hoping the wave of owls on September 1st is huge since that’s the real first day at Hogwarts in the books.

  2. Your blog is amazing! 😀

  3. Seeker Erised

    Died when I saw you quoted me!!! Yaaaay hahaha! Ok officially the coolest blog ever!!

  4. RoseStone19

    that is the best I’ve seen someone sum up our #pottermorefamily, and this family of ours continues to grow and grow. *jumps around in excitement*

  5. Excellent little welcome message to the pottermorefamily! Definitely a great resource for new members to become familiar with the goings on. ^^

  6. thanks for the link. i have also placed a link of your blog on mine. hopefully, i could add the others as well..

  7. What a charming way to bring the Potter fans together! I have too many social media accounts to manage as it is but my Pottermore username is CrimsonCentaur148 if anyone’s interested. Love the kind of effort you’re putting into making the Pottermore community even tighter :). Also tweeting #potterfamily is a lot more enticing than just plain old #pottermore.

  8. Jess

    Glad to discover your blog! Can’t wait for the Pottermore gates to open.

    I will be covering Pottermore on my end, too. You can find everything at http://thelastmuggle.com. I’m sure we’ll have a million things to discuss!

    I’m adding a link to your blog so my readers can check out your writings as well. 🙂

    • Thank you! I shall add a link to your blog as well! I’ve already read a bit of yours. Thanks so much for leaving a comment.

  9. Jessica (Lumosdream48)

    Great description of what is going on with the #pottermorefamily, I love that a group of people with differente ages and from all over the world can have smart and funny conversations, and I think that is what pottermore is about!

  10. This is a great introduction to our Pottermore Family! Thanks for putting this together Elm. JKR has truly brought an amazing group of people together through Pottermore. I can’t imagine not coming home and talking to y’all on Twitter, seeing what people are up to and who’s still waiting on emails.

    I’m sure my list has the same people as the ones above, but if you’re still looking for other Pottermore crazies, you can check out my twitter list: @jinxshadow96/pottermore

    Great job Elm!

  11. AlexSandra (@MoonAsphodel33)

    Thank Elm! Great info about our Pottermore Family – proud to be a part of it!

  12. Wonderful summation, Elm. This will provide a perfect introduction & invitation to the Pottermore family for anyone who comes across us and wonders if we’re all mad. Nicely done!!!

  13. Great blog ElmBlade! 🙂 I have had a personal Twitter account for 2 years that I never use… because I could not see the value… but in just one week with #pottermorefamily I am having an entirely different experience. I have learned more in a week following this great group than I did in the previous 2 years on twitter! The education alone is a benefit! It is very fast-moving and dynamic–and a very intelligent group too boot.

    I myself am ONLY following Pottermore members via my account and trying to avoid a lot of Potter-retweeters as that is not of much value to me… For the most part this bunch is just an excited group of welcomgin people that share my love of the books and movies. A nice bunch with whom to pass the time!

  14. icestar48

    awesome I will make my friends get a twitter account and become a member of the Pottemorefamily. my twitter is @IceStar48 😀

  15. nicky (@HallowQuest105)

    Omg, I just LOLed & died. I love it! Can’t wait for more 😀

  16. Great job! I look forward to reading your posts! 🙂

Leave a Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.